C4 ZR-1 Discussion General ZR-1 Corvette Discussion, LT5 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track

Regular C4 windshield in a ZR1

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2016, 08:52 PM
dbdreams
Advanced

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Regular C4 windshield in a ZR1

Does anyone here have a regular C4 windshield installed in their ZR1 and if so what are the pros and cons?

I know that the OEM ZR1 windshield was designed to help with the air conditioning but I think I would prefer the regular windshield to avoid the look of the delamination. I am a window tinter by trade and I think the windshield would look better with a more traditional tint instead of the foggy look around the edges of the original. Just tying to size up my options an authenticity isn't really a concern for me because the one I'm looking to buy isn't really a show car anyway.
Old 05-16-2016, 09:25 PM
Zrxmax
Race Director

Received 77 Likes on 59 Posts

Originally Posted by dbdreams
Does anyone here have a regular C4 windshield installed in their ZR1 and if so what are the pros and cons?

I know that the OEM ZR1 windshield was designed to help with the air conditioning but I think I would prefer the regular windshield to avoid the look of the delamination. I am a window tinter by trade and I think

the windshield would look better with a more traditional tint instead of the foggy look around the edges of the original. Just tying to size up my options an authenticity isn't really a concern for me because the

one I'm looking to buy isn't really a show car anyway.
I don't have regular C 4 windshield in my ZR-1... yet. However, recently I got a rock chip right dead center where you spend a lot of time looking through the glass.

Besides, at 140+K the windshield is pitted from sand.