C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

OBD2 Output - Accuracy of Boost/Vacuum and Fuel Pressure via OBD2?

Search this Thread

Old 08-28-2011, 02:00 PM
BlueTeamZ06
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default OBD2 Output - Accuracy of Boost/Vacuum and Fuel Pressure via OBD2?

Howdy!

I'm looking at using a WiFi OBD2 interface to an iPhone running Devtoaster's Rev package to monitor my 02 Z06 under boost. My understanding is that the C5 ODB2 will output this info, but how accurate is it vs. dedicated analog boost/fuel pressure gauges?

It seems to me that it should be accurate, as this output is what the tuner uses to setup the car on the dyno, but I'm new to this game.

Thanks!
Old 08-28-2011, 02:28 PM
JT FRC 00
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Boost??

Your not going to be able to read boost or fuel pressure with a device thru OBD2. The reason is there isn't any OEM sensors that measure them. U may be able to buy aftermarket sensors and install them to monitor them thru wifi on your phone but not sure. Even so they would have some lag I would guess. There is some products you can plug into the OBD2 to monitor lots of info but limited depending on the vehicle. I'm using one now and like it, comes in handy on a few things like logging info and clearing check engine lights.
Old 08-28-2011, 03:34 PM
bullitt4110
Le Mans Master

Received 56 Likes on 49 Posts

You may be able to log boost if your tune is 2 bar, but otherwise like said above not going to happen through the OBD2.
Old 09-01-2011, 10:39 PM
hiperf454
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post