C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear tires

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2016, 09:52 PM
BURL
Pro

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Rear tires

I hate to post this because of all the posts that have come before but I would like answers from those how have or started out with a car like mine..

Tried to make this short but couldn't - sorry. I'm new at this and I need an economical way to get better traction on a supercharged 575 RWHP C5 running a A4 and 3.42 gears. I will be occasionally running a grudge race or going to the 1/8 mile strip which is located only about 5 miles from my home. I will be able to mount rears at home and drive the 5 miles to the strip. If I get lazy I might also leave them on for a couple of days at a time for around town cruising – no interstate.

I've read everything I could find on the forum about rear (drag) tires but I want to make sure I go in the right direction the first time. It's stock now with 17" polished thin spokes on front and 18" on the rear. I'm looking at going to 17" polished thin spokes on the rear with some DR's for the 1/8 mile. I have read that the 17's on the rear will allow better tire choices, more sidewall and thus potentially better traction. As a bonus and with the polished thin spoke 17's are on the rear my thin spoke rims still match all around – no obvious drag rim for others to wary of.

So, I did a few calculations to see how well the 17" would fit on the rear versus the 18's now mounted. My calculations show the outer edge of the 17" mounted on the rear will be .220 farther inboard than the current 18” and .780 farther from the inside fender liner than the current 18". This should allow for a wider tire fitment.

For example, if I use ET Street Radials my choices would seem to be: