C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Trans help with front mount turbo C5

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2016, 02:15 AM
junk c5
Burning Brakes

Received 60 Likes on 57 Posts

Default Trans help with front mount turbo C5

I'm throwing the help flag on this one because I've got zero experience with building transmissions. Here's the long and the short of it. Originally I started out with a rear mount turbo very with a 4L60E that my buddy built. He's a very experienced performance transmission builder. Trans worked great with the rear mount and made 565 RWHP. I decided to go with an aftermarket built 390 CI motor and larger front mount turbo. PTC custom torque converter. While EVERYTHING was apart, my buddy told me to bring the trans over for a freshen and update. After doing his thing I finished the build and had it tuned. It made pretty much the same power with less boost, less timing, and no meth. The night I had it tuned it rained so a test drive wasn't possible . When I finally drove it a few days later, it would bang the limiter every time on the 1-2 shift at WOT. At about 80% throttle it would shift fine. Tuner figured it needed an adjustment but I didn't make it back for a tune adjustment because I knew I was going to make some changes and be back soon for an E85 tune.

I redid the down pipe, upped my fuel system game, got an electric boost controller then filled her with E85 for an E85 tune.

A week before my scheduled tuning session I completely destroyed the clutches in the trans. while adjusting the boost controller. My buddy said I even wrecked the forward 3-4 clutch pack. He was able to get it back to me in a couple days but couldn't identify why it burnt up. The trans had less than 1000 street miles and 6-7 dyno pulls. Plus a few hard over-boosts during boost controller testing.