Sponsored by:

Newbie questions: side air bag, ESC, diff between C5s

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2007, 04:54 PM
opua
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie questions: side air bag, ESC, diff between C5s

Newbie here. I am thinking of getting a C5. I now got a 96 Miata and a VW Passat. I wanted something with more power. I also want something with lots of safety feature. I understand that the C5 does not come with side airbags. Is that right?

Also, when did electronic stability control become available and when it became standard? I read 1999, is it standard or available as an option. If an option, what is availability like?

Other than the engine, are there major differences in a base coupe C5 with Z51 package from year to year?

For $20k +/- a couple of grand, what year/mileage of a C5 can I expect? (I did browse the classified ads here.)

If somebody can point me to a site with all these answers or with FAQ on C5, that would be much appreciated.

Thanks. Dave

Last edited by opua; 08-15-2007 at 04:58 PM.
Old 08-15-2007, 05:22 PM
NJAnthony
Racer

FWIW, it depends on how lucky you get, or how patient you are.

I paid 21K for a 2000 Coupe with everything I wanted earlier this year. HUD, M6, Bose, etc... It had 41K miles. This is in the ballpark, I didn't get ripped off, I didn't get a spectacular deal... I just didn't want to wait
Old 08-15-2007, 08:53 PM
ScottJ97
Instructor

Originally Posted by opua
Newbie here. I am thinking of getting a C5. I now got a 96 Miata and a VW Passat. I wanted something with more power. I also want something with lots of safety feature. I understand that the C5 does not come with side airbags. Is that right?

Also, when did electronic stability control become available and when it became standard? I read 1999, is it standard or available as an option. If an option, what is availability like?

Other than the engine, are there major differences in a base coupe C5 with Z51 package from year to year?