K&N Air Filter Cleaning - Without the Kit

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2012, 10:10 PM
mguerra
Pro

Received 11 Likes on 7 Posts
Finalist 2020 C7 of the Year -- Unmodified

Default K&N Air Filter Cleaning - Without the Kit

I was about to invest in the K&N cleaning kit when I came across this posting (on the 350z forum). I followed the instructions and was VERY happy with the results. It removed all the grease, grime, bugs, etc...
I'm sorry I didn't take before and after pics.

We'll here's the post if you're interested...

DIY: K&N filter cleaning - new method

(NOT EDITED FOR SPELLING - YOUR MILEAGE MAY VARY)

"this method is THE BEST BY FAR!!!!! it is EASY & FAST!!! & relatively CHEEP too!!!!

OK... i just figgered this out last weekend...arguably the BEST method i have EVER used to clean Cotton gauze air filter media....i have been cleaning these types of filtersd for about 20 years now & nothing REALLY seemed to CLEAN the stuff thoroughly......

This started because i have an SRT intake w/a AFE filter, & i was cleaning it the usual way: spray on the cleaner let it sit.. .rinse it out... blah blah... it seemed to work OK... but i could ALWAYS still see dirt & crap stuck into the filter media down deep in the grooves/pleats... this was pissing me off... so i cleaned it three times the last time ...
soak with filter cleaner..let sit, .rinse...
soak again w simple green, let sit in the HOT sun...& rinse...
then AGAIN, soak with with orange glow cleaner & simple green then let sit & rinse....

STILL there was dirt & bug parts & oil grime down in the pleats & even at the ends of the outside pleats..... WTF!! & you DO NOT want to blast it from the inside with a water or air hose.. .you will damage the cotton that needs to stay in good shape to filter properly....

Then..I had an idea......