Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Will a broken EBCM make a car fail the Safetty Inspection ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2013, 03:06 PM
Cosmic Charlie
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Default Will a broken EBCM make a car fail the Safetty Inspection ?

Will a broken EBCM make a car fail the Safety Inspection ?

In Mass a Check Engine Light "ON" will fail a car's Safety Inspection ... Does this apply ?

Any One

Does it vary state to state ?
Old 01-06-2013, 04:15 PM
rrichar2591
Drifting

Received 326 Likes on 182 Posts

I'm no expert but from what I've read if the check engine light is on, then many states will not pass the the inspection. Therefor if the BCM is causing the check engine light I would think that could cause an inspector to reject it. Check out the March 2013 of Corvette Magazine which goes into a little more detail. As I said though, I've had no first hand knowledge and so only offering a guess. You could also call a dealer who does inspections and they could give you the answer.
Old 01-06-2013, 04:29 PM
Vetteman Jack
Administrator

Support Corvetteforum!

Location: In a parallel universe. Currently own 2014 Stingray Coupe.
Received 19,230 Likes on 13,933 Posts
C7 of the Year - Modified Finalist 2021
MO Events Coordinator
St. Jude Co-Organizer
St. Jude Donor '03-'04-'05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-
'20-'21-'22-'23-'24
NCM Sinkhole Donor
CI 5, 8 & 11 Veteran

Good advice to just call a dealer or an inspection station and see what they say.
Old 01-06-2013, 04:38 PM
BLUICIDE
Burning Brakes

Received 120 Likes on 48 Posts