2022 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
2021 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
C7 of the Year - Modified Finalist 2021
Finalist 2020 C7 of the Year -- Modified
2020 C5 of the Year Finalist - Modified
C5 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019
2018 C5 of Year Finalist

Default Bonehead Move - Drove With Parking Brake On

I had a Homer Simpson "Doh" moment last night. After leaving a friends house I drove about 10 miles to a restaurant with my parking brake still activated. I was driving side roads so I did not get up past 50 MPH, however I'm still concerned whether or not I caused any permanent damage.

After arriving at the restaurant, my wife and I both noticed a burning smell and I then realized that I forgot to disengage the parking brake. I have never done this before and feel like a complete ***!

After dinner, we drove home and the car seemed fine. Today, while cleaning up the car a little, I noticed that the rear brake rotors had some burnt fluid around the center. (Pics below) A few pieces chipped off, however most of it seems burnt on.

Any advice? The car runs well and seems to be braking fine. Do I just chalk it up as a bonehead move and move on or do I need to perform any repairs or proactive maintenance? I appreciate any advice!

Thanks!

Old 02-24-2013, 04:02 PM
racebum
Race Director

Received 153 Likes on 146 Posts

that's road grime and whatever coating was on the rotors that you heated to the point that it melted. new pads and rotors in the rear are in your future. i would pull the calipers and inspect the pads and see what's actually left .
Old 02-24-2013, 04:06 PM
Blitzkrieg
AKA "The CLOWN"
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts

Let your car sit for a few hours and then go for a normal ride, You most likely took a chunk of life out of your rear pads! If you have any pulsating, you will need to turn your rotors and that wont be cheap because they are drilled. You should be able to clean the rotors up!