Sponsored by:

My DIY Carbon Fiber Console Lid

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2016, 11:33 AM
DrRaySomeDay
Racer

Received 39 Likes on 31 Posts
Default My DIY Carbon Fiber Console Lid

I think I should start with a disclaimer: I have been playing with DIY carbon fiber wrapping for a couple years and never really managed anything impressive. Now that I have a Vette, I decided to take my time and be a bit more serious with it. I plan on doing my DIY side skirts and a pair Z06 ducts and much of my interior in carbon fiber. I finished my first piece today-the console lid.

I used what I have picked up over the last couple years and this DIY post: https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...tte-parts.html

The fabric is around $30 for a 3ft x 3ft section. The resin is about $70 for a gallon (I just used the Bar Top Resin from Home Depot/ Lowes).

It can be a messy, time consuming process. But, if you like doing it, it feels like more of a fun hobby than a pain in the ***. Here's some pics:
Attached Images    
Old 07-09-2016, 11:37 AM
Patches
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 889 Likes on 587 Posts

Beautiful! Nice work!
The following users liked this post:
DrRaySomeDay (07-09-2016)
Old 07-09-2016, 12:17 PM
zdeckich
Safety Car

Received 312 Likes on 231 Posts
2017 Corvette of Year Finalist
2016 C5 of the Year

what did you use to make the mold? And how did you cure it? You have use a oven or autoclave? Very nice work!! I was playing around with some prepreg cf myself but have been so busy I haven't really had the time to mess with it. Plus its hard for me to get my hands on a autoclave to use lol.

Last edited by zdeckich; 07-09-2016 at 12:18 PM.
Old 07-09-2016, 12:22 PM
not2old
Instructor

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Looks good. Did you wrap the fabric over the existing padding and vinyl or remove and use some other substrate/form?
Old 07-09-2016, 12:40 PM
DrRaySomeDay
Racer

Originally Posted by zdeckich