C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

98 air conditioning

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2017, 11:36 PM
ehuron
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Default 98 air conditioning

AC system completely replaced (original GM, non reman parts). Will only get fairly cold on highway but hardly even cool in traffic. Compressor replaced twice and orifice twice. High side reads correct, but low side stays at about 60lbs indicating possible blockage. But, can't find one. I did see an orifice available for this car that was forty two dollars, expensive but needed?
Old 04-26-2017, 08:14 AM
Bob in Elliot Lake
Instructor

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

I'm not an auto a/c guy, but I am a refrigeration mechanic (mostly grocery stores). I would expect a restriction in the system at the oriface to cause low suction pressure, not high, unless the restriction is between the port where you are measuring pressure and the compressor. Is there a filter/drier between the low side pressure port and the compressor? If so I would suspect that. When I get a chance later today, I'll look at a drawing of the a/c system for clues.
Old 04-26-2017, 03:16 PM
Bob in Elliot Lake
Instructor