Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need some opinions, new engine or sell whole?

Old 10-03-2017, 09:27 AM
Bob Lineman
Instructor

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default Need some opinions, new engine or sell whole?

Back in May, the engine let go on my 99 with 230,000 miles. I've owned it since new. Its been up on stands and I have been slowly taking things apart with the idea that I would replace the engine with a rebuilt unit. My block is trash, so I have to find one and have it redone. Well, as the summer dragged on, life got in the way, and now a new school year (I'm a HS Calculus Teacher) is in full swing, I'm second guessing myself. I don't have a lift, although I have contemplated getting a portable one, and the more I take off, the more issues I find (frame rail on drivers side in front of engine has a good bit of rust).

What would you people do? If I stay the course, I want to do a mild bump in power (about 400-450 total) and I also want to address the frame issue as well as paint and some interior bits. Realistically, what am I looking at $$$-wise?

On the other hand, if I decide to sell, I do not have the desire to tear it all apart just to sell it off piece by piece (would kill me inside) so what could I get selling whole?

The boards have always been great with questions, so I'm asking one more. Any opinions are appreciated.
Old 10-03-2017, 09:51 AM
Velocity_Vette
Drifting

Received 352 Likes on 294 Posts

C5s have hit a very low price structure on the private market. A C5 with that high mileage and incomplete drive train would be something that wouldn't sell for a lot of money.

Parting it out could yield you some money but 1) you'd have to disassemble everything to sell it and 2) you would possibly sit on parts for a long time until the right buyers came along. If you don't have the space to hold parts that can be problematic.