Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone in MA/RI w/ experience installing radio flyer headlights?

Search this Thread

Old 01-06-2018, 09:19 AM
C5Dobie
Drifting

Received 155 Likes on 113 Posts

Default Anyone in MA/RI w/ experience installing radio flyer headlights?

while it's a bit too frigid in my garage at the moment to tackle this install, I want to get them installed & functional before spring. It a bit weary doing this mod on my own w/ no prior experience

I'm not a complete novice when it comes to working on the Z- to date Ive installed an MGW shifter, aftermarket sways & end-links, & do routine maintenance like fluid swaps & will do the brakes on my own etc

The electrical/wiring & seemingly "finicky" pop up headlight assemblies scare me a bit though

I'm close to Gillette stadium - if anyone has experience willing to lend a helping hand or guidance, or if you have a shop recommendation who could handle this I'd be interested!

Stay warm!
Old 01-06-2018, 09:55 AM
Monsteryes
Advanced

Received 15 Likes on 6 Posts

I've worked on/around my stock headlights a bunch, it's nothing crazy, hardest part for me has been getting the surrounds back on without nicking the bumper.
Im no pro, but I'm in north central mass, I could stop by and provide moral support if you want lol
Old 01-06-2018, 12:23 PM
Tsumi
Drifting

Received 357 Likes on 289 Posts

Everything is plug and play. If you can install the MGW shifter, you can install the lights. It literally is hit or miss whether or not you have electrical issues. Some cars are more sensitive than others, and there is nothing you can do about it. There is a way to get around the headlights not closing issue without installing resistors, but that would require modifying the stock harness. Or something similar to the hyperflash harness. I could probably build a plug and play modification harness for the headlight control module.