Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Summary of one expensive experience.

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2018, 08:22 PM
derz_vette
Racer

Received 27 Likes on 17 Posts
Default Summary of one expensive experience.

Hi all,

Haven't been as active usual the past year - kind of reached the end of my stick for a while and left the vette at my parents garage to sit while I figured it out. Last year in June, my engine had a valve spring break, and triggered me to begin this expensive revamp of my vette. Unfortunately as I was very new to this level of modification - I made some mistakes, and had some unlucky events.

I researched all over trying to figure out what I wanted to do - ended up going over the top cubes with the power train to hold it. I'll list out some of what I've learned from the experience, and my review of some of the parts i've purchased during the adventure.

These lessons are not all self taught, I've read many threads where other more experienced members shared their thoughts and I echo them. Perhaps I did not internalize them in time for this project, but in the future... I know now.

---------------------Lessons Learned------------------------
1)If and when possible, buy local. Once you install that part and find something defective (in my case, engine) it can be very difficult to get the builder to take action / responsibility. There could be exceptions to this, but it does come down to personal experience with each vendor. In the future, I will always buy from someone within driving distance (400mi~).

2)Dependent on the first lesson. One Stop Shop: Have a single shop build and install everything, this will avoid the risk of finger pointing between shops to who is at fault for an issue. (My builder stated the engine was working as expected, and that the installer could have messed something up). Some shops don't do all pieces, so it does come down to what you are trying to do. (engine replacement vs headlight replacement)