Time of year to sell...is it significantly different? - CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion

Go Back  CorvetteForum - Chevrolet Corvette Forum Discussion > C5 Corvettes, 1997 - 2004 > C5 General
Reload this Page >

Time of year to sell...is it significantly different?

Notices
C5 General General C5 Corvette and C5 Z06 Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Time of year to sell...is it significantly different?

Old 09-19-2018, 01:56 PM
imgn tht
CF Senior Member

St. Jude Donor '13, '15
Default Time of year to sell...is it significantly different?

So we all know that Spring is typically a better time to sell a used sports car, perhaps more relevant to the Northern US. I've been attempting to sell my C5 Coupe for a few months now and while I've had a few bites and offers they are really low. Does holding off to the Spring really make that much of a difference? Are we talking difference of a few hundred dollars or thousands?

I'd prefer not to store it another winter, thus putting one of my other cars out in the elements here in Chicago. It's a 2004 auto with just under 29k miles. I was originally hoping for $18k which seemed realistic based on kbb, carfax, and other sites I've used to value it for private party sale in its condition. I'm getting offers at $15k instead. I've since come down to an asking price of $17,800 and still open to offers, but no interest anywhere close. I'm trying not to be the typical owner that thinks their car is worth more than it should be...and comparing to others I see listed for sale in my area I'm priced very favorably for a buyer.

Just frustrated as I want this process to be over, but don't want to give it away. And winter is getting closer everyday...
Old 09-19-2018, 02:14 PM
JR-01
CF Senior Member