Sponsored by:

6 Speed driving tips

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2024, 12:41 PM
ls1mc5hane
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 6 Speed driving tips

I’m fairly new to driving a manual and wanted to make sure these things are okay or fixable. Sometimes when I start I wont give enough gas and I’ll hear a grinding noise that I cringe at. Is this normal/ how should I fix this from being a habit? Also when I’m downshifting Ill rev match and bring the clutch to the bite point quickly then let off, Is this the correct way to be rev matching? Or should I be dumping the clutch when the revs are matched? Thanks haha
Old 05-15-2024, 03:41 PM
Dads2kconvertible
Drifting

Received 671 Likes on 446 Posts

You may be hearing the throwout bearing. They are noisy on these cars. But without hearing what you are hearing no one can say if it's normal or not.
Old 05-16-2024, 12:08 AM
vette4fl
Safety Car

Received 2,351 Likes on 1,372 Posts
2022 C5 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified

Driving a stick should consist of timing and fluid movements. Pay more attention to your throttle while engaging the clutch. I’ve been driving manual transmissions for over 50 years and I still have to pay attention to the transitions, lol.
Old 05-16-2024, 01:08 AM
Vetteman Jack
Administrator

Support Corvetteforum!

Location: In a parallel universe. Currently own 2014 Stingray Coupe.
Received 19,846 Likes on 14,307 Posts
C7 of the Year - Modified Finalist 2021
MO Events Coordinator
St. Jude Co-Organizer
St. Jude Donor '03-'04-'05-'06-'07-'08-'09-'10-'11-'12-'13-'14-'15-'16-'17-'18-'19-
'20-'21-'22-'23-'24
NCM Sinkhole Donor
CI 5, 8 & 11 Veteran

If the noise sounds like marbles in a can, it is not uncommon for the C5 six speed to sound like that. Many threads on that topic.
Old 05-16-2024, 04:54 AM
jdmvette
Night Owl for life
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,325 Likes on 1,706 Posts

drive it daily and you'll become a pro in no time
The following users liked this post:
03tripleblack (Yesterday)