C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

Tuning training materials

Search this Thread

Old 12-31-2016, 11:59 AM
BURL
Pro

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
Default Tuning training materials

Anyone have any tuning materials - books, DVD's, video, etc. related to tuning they want to sell?

Thanks
Old 01-02-2017, 11:33 AM
aaronc7
Drifting

Received 297 Likes on 235 Posts

what's your current knowledge level?
Old 01-02-2017, 12:24 PM
BURL
Pro

Default Tuning Materials

Originally Posted by aaronc7
I have zero experience with tuning EFI systems. But, I was a computer programmer/IT guy for several years. So the concept of the software and interfaces are quite familiar from pics I have seen on line. However the use and manipulation of the various EFI tables is not in my toolkit.

It appears the HP Tuners and EFI Live are just high level interfaces so that humans can easily look at and change binary files stored in the EFI computer.

So I think I have a decent grasp on the concept but zero hands on experience. I want to decide on HP Tuners or EFI Live and start at the beginner level.

Thanks
Old 01-02-2017, 07:24 PM
aaronc7
Drifting

Received 297 Likes on 235 Posts

I don't have anything for sale but I can tell you some books which I found helpful.

Guy named Greg Banish has a series of books, DVDs and more. DVDs are probably the best thing, but a little rich for my blood. I did buy one of his books and think it's pretty good:

https://www.amazon.com/Engine-Manage...ct_top?ie=UTF8

I also like this book-- it is very DIY standalone ECU/PCM centric, but I think it has a lot of good general info in it that's easy to read/understand. I also like the tuning/dyno tips section towards the end-- it gives a great systematic tuning approach (vs a lot of theory, which is what a lot of books end up being mostly about).