C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

C5 Z06 intermittent power loss, what to look for on data logging

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2022, 10:54 PM
Eric_who
Instructor

Received 53 Likes on 27 Posts
Default C5 Z06 intermittent power loss, what to look for on data logging

I have an 03 C5 Z06 that has a weird intermittent power loss and bogging issue, usually when the engine is cold, and tends to go away when warmed up. I put new plugs and wires, no change. Checked the fuel pressure at the fuel rail during idle and revving, fuel pressure is a constant 55-60psi. Next im going go use my diablosport i3 to do datalogging, but I’ve never done it before. Is there any specific parameters i need to be looking at for a problem like this? Im assuming this problem is being caused by a vacuum leak or unmetered air getting into the engine after the MAF. Thanks for any info
Old 07-01-2022, 01:03 PM
wobblyflopper
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I'd pay close attention to your spark advance/retard. If the pcm sees something it cant make sense of it'll pull spark way back which would account for it being intermittent.
Old 07-16-2022, 09:26 PM
wydopnthrtl
Drifting

Received 290 Likes on 187 Posts

If its only a vacuum leak, it would generally be ok when cold and get worse as the engine warms (ECU leaning out the mixture as ECT increases)
Old 07-21-2022, 05:19 PM
C5 Diag
Moderator, Tech Contributor

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,122 Likes on 1,687 Posts

Originally Posted by Eric_who