C5 Scan & Tune Corvette Onboard Diagnostics, Service Advice, Dyno Tuning, Fuel Management, Tuning Software, LS1 Edit, AutoTap, Diablo
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

? How to better my performance ?

Search this Thread

Old 10-29-2020, 11:02 PM
01torchred
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default ? How to better my performance ?

I just signed up this is my first time on here I hope I'm doing this right ? I Purchased my 2001 C5 brand new in 2001 it had a total of 3 miles on it. I have kept up all maintenance on it myself since new. I currently have around 46,000 miles on it 10/29/2020 and until recently have kept it completely bone stock "completely" other than a tuner that I bought at the same time I bought the car . I recently installed a dual cone cold air intake up to the MAF sensor to get smoother air flow and I thought it may run better but it actually seems to be at a loss it is sluggish off the line ? When I first bought the Corvette in 2001 I did purchase a Diablo Sport Predator tuner I have installed the performance tune from the unit and back to factory several times and it never really impressed me with a noticeable difference in performance etc. I have never tinkered with changing any of the parameters in the tuner to experiment because I really do not know what to try to change and how much to change it . this past year I called Diablo Sport to ask about updating the tuner for newer or different programming and as expected due to the age of the tuner they just tried to get me to purchase a new programmer instead. I am basically retired and my budget will not allow me to spend the big bucks I would love to spend but I still love the feeling of power and the more the better. So all this writing is leading to one question and that is what would be my best upgrade / upgrades to the engine to get the most for the money. I know it's not much but I could probably swing $ 2 to 4,000.00 for improvements ? Any reasonable ideas would be greatly appreciate