C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

B&B Long Tube Header Install - Write Up

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2017, 01:06 AM
kalayaan12
Racer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts

Default B&B Long Tube Header Install - Write Up

I've been running the B&B PRT over-the-axle mufflers for a few years on an otherwise stock exhaust, and now it was time to complete the rest of the system with long tubes, x-pipe and hi-flow cats... It took about a month and a half for everything to arrive which pushed my timeline somewhat out of whack - I was hoping to have this done back in May so I could focus on other tasks. But, some things happen at their own pace! The headers are well-made and look great - however installing them would have a few twists and turns. The instruction sheet which comes with the headers is surprisingly vague and isn't much help.

Just a few initial impressions of how things went:

DRIVER SIDE:

The header on this side is loaded from underneath the vehicle. This can be done without a lift, but you'll need a lot of clearance as the header goes in pointing straight up. While up top make sure to remove spark plugs and coil packs to avoid breaking anything. From underneath, removal of the flywheel inspection plate helps gain some much-needed room, however a few things quickly become apparent...

- The "Bat Wing" oil pan is a genuine pain in the butt and the wings are constantly in the way. I can see why others have considered swapping oil pans to the LS2 design while doing this; you will be fighting with the oil pan during the entire installation!