C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Doug's Shorty Headers...what to expect?

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2010, 07:00 AM
Pajak44
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Doug's Shorty Headers...what to expect?

After reading many mixed reviews, I ordered a set of Doug's Shorty Headers last night from Summit Racing for my 02 Z06.

Has anyone had any experience with these headers, or shorties in general? If so, could you help me with the following questions...

Keep in mind, the car is stock except for VaraRam intake and a Corsa X-Pipe.

1. Will I notice any increase in power?
2. Will I notice any change in sound?
3. Is it a DIY job, or do I need a mechanic? (I'm no mechanic, but I can turn a wrench.)

What I'm really looking for is a more agressive sound; the stock Z just seems far too quiet for a car with that much power.

I really want to eventually go with Corsa Xtreme, Loud Mouth, or BB Bullets, but that will be when the budget allows. I only had a few hundred to play with now, that's why I went with the shorties. If anyone knows of a better way to get better sound with $500, PLEASE ADVISE!

Thanks for any help!!!

Josh
Old 10-30-2010, 11:20 AM
81c3
Le Mans Master

Received 615 Likes on 431 Posts

Sorry Josh, Im one of those guys who says shortys arent worth the money. The sound wont be dramatically different, & the power gain is very minimal. Long tubes are the way to go. You can spend $500. on a used set of good headers. I paid $700. for my TPIS longtubes, Random Tech X pipe and Random Tech hi-flow cats. The parts were slightly used, but in great shape.
Good Luck
Old 10-30-2010, 11:35 AM
~Josh
Banned Scam/Spammer

Received 1,319 Likes on 788 Posts

I looked at them years back and found that some people had fitment issues with Dougs in regards to flange lining up with the stock cat pipes.