C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need help finding a good clutch

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2013, 05:12 PM
NamzooG
8th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Need help finding a good clutch

Hello I was wondering hat would be a good clutch to put in the 02 c5 zo6 I need to replace the throw out bearing and I figured It would be a good time to change the clutch my car only has a X-pipe exhaust and no mods to the engine. any help would be nice thanks
Old 07-29-2013, 06:47 PM
strand rider
Safety Car

Received 235 Likes on 181 Posts

I am not experienced enough to give advice around here, but I selected the McCloud RST clutch with a McCloud steel flywheel . My primary decision points were cost and drivability. I went with the stock GM throw out bearing and reservoir , although from the high line model.

Both goals were met, with an additional cost to balance the assembly. I would have gotten a lighter flywheel had I known that my teenage son would have little interest in driving the car, but it was also my first experience with selecting non factory clutch parts, so , not wanting to make a mistake , went conservative.

Car drives easily, with a little lighter clutch feel, and you can modulate the clutch as much as needed easily.

The one concern I found in shopping for this stuff is that the main market is for performance clutches, race stuff that is quick, like an on -off switch. Good for most customers, since the drivability people mostly buy stock, I assume, but bad for sales since a racing style clutch limits sales to non performance customers.