C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

carbon fiber radio antenna

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2012, 09:47 PM
2525ken
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default carbon fiber radio antenna

Ok gang I know I am a rookie to these vetts but my radio antenna broke and I was told to put a carbon fiber and it was simple deal. now after 3 hours it is still not in. I have a 01 and this has become a pain in the rear. help. thanks ken
Old 04-17-2012, 07:04 AM
Birdman
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

I'm....confused.

You were told to put on a carbon fiber radio antenna? Why? Didn't know they even made those, nor do I feel that it would be very receptive. An antenna (assuming you broke it on the stalk that sticks out) is a quick and simple thing to swap out..you unscrew one and screw in the other.

Is it power or fixed?

Pics?
Old 04-17-2012, 01:46 PM
2525ken
Intermediate

Originally Posted by Birdman
I'm....confused.

You were told to put on a carbon fiber radio antenna? Why? Didn't know they even made those, nor do I feel that it would be very receptive. An antenna (assuming you broke it on the stalk that sticks out) is a quick and simple thing to swap out..you unscrew one and screw in the other.

Is it power or fixed?

Pics?
birdman< I really did not break my atenna. The cord broke on my retractable radio and instead of replacing the motor ( I dont hear a sound when the radio is turned on) I understand that you could just put a stubby on that gave the same reception. After getting into it, it was obvious that we need some mods and I dont know where to go.thanks ken
Old 04-17-2012, 10:50 PM
Birdman
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 6 Posts

You don't hear static?