C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Question on the proper use of a Craftsman Torque Wrench

Old 05-21-2002, 03:54 PM
Tormania
Team Owner

Received 11 Likes on 6 Posts
Cruise-In IV Veteran
Cruise-In V Veteran

Default Question on the proper use of a Craftsman Torque Wrench

I bought a Craftsman Torque Wrench and used it for the first time this last weekend. The wrench is the type were you turn the handle to set the torque setting, from 25-250lbs.

I was putting a rear wheel back on and was getting ready to torque the lug nuts on with an increasing 30-60-100 lbs star pattern, to ensure even tightening of course. At first I wasn't sure how to tell when I reached the torque setting with the wrench and had to re-read the instructions to figure it out. (I've never used a torque wrench of any kind before so this is all new to me) I assume that I was correct in tightening nice and slow until the handle on the torque wrench gives just a bit. After I had done this for all 5 lugs at 30lbs I adjusted the wrench to 60lbs and started again. I was VERY surprised to notice that when I went to tighten the lugs from 30lbs to 60lbs that the wrench turned hardly a 1/8 of a turn before the handle gave and notified me that the torque setting had been reached. :confused: :confused: I thought for sure that going from 30lbs to 60lbs would warrant at LEAST a full revolution of the lug. The same thing happened when I went from 60lbs to 100lbs, the wrench again didn't even complete a ¼ revolution before it released.