C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

This is why I don't gamble... Bad crank & cam?

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2018, 03:59 PM
Scholioso
Racer

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default This is why I don't gamble... Bad crank & cam?

Hey guys. So I thought I had found a good deal. Guy was selling a ls7 crank & ls7 cam. Both used cuz he upgraded. Long story short, he said that his engine builder told him the motor spun a bearing & needed to be rebuilt. So he payed to go big. Was selling the used parts, but being that he's not mechanically savvy, he wasn't sure if these parts were good or not.

So, I took the gamble. $300 shipped for crank & cam. I am not a professional mechanic nor am I an engine builder, but I have done a lot of reading & from everything I've read, I believe the crank & cam to be bad.

The cam looks like it was good, but for some reason either got dropped or something dropped on it, etc, as there are nicks in the cam where the cam rides on the bearings.

The crank I'm pretty sure is fried. I thought I read somewhere that if the crank has blueing or shows a sign of heat stress (rainbow colors) it's done. It loses it's structural integrity I guess.

Anyways, thought I should get a second opinion before actually junking these or turning them into some sort of furniture or decorations. Let me know what ya'll think. Thanks.

Last edited by Scholioso; 05-18-2018 at 04:04 PM.
Old 05-18-2018, 06:15 PM
GUSTO14
Le Mans Master

Received 1,962 Likes on 1,283 Posts

Default Why I Don't Gamble...?

Should make for a nice $300 end table (crank) and a lamp (cam) ...

Good luck... GUSTO
Old 05-18-2018, 06:34 PM
neutron82
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,261 Likes on 1,056 Posts
2020 Corvette of the Year Finalist (performance mods)
C5 of Year Winner (performance mods) 2019