C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Gears wont go in when motor running

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2018, 09:19 PM
z0stix
Racer

Received 14 Likes on 10 Posts

Default Gears wont go in when motor running

Well, the other day when I started the car, I could not get reverse in, or any other gear....i had to shut off the car, put it in gear, then turn the car on and take off quickly....luckily I was only a few blocks away...

I have an rxt twin disc clutch, I removed the inspection cover and the slave does push the pressure plate fingers in, although very squeaky, dont know if its supposed to be squeaky though.

What I do notice is that with the motor running, as I push down my clutch pedal,the pedal starts to vibrate, I have a remote bleeder and I bled and put clean fluid in, but still same thing. I have a stock ls6 master cylinder, I hope its that, I do not want a tick, a couple C5s around here had issues with them and I don't like the stiff pedal...anyways...what do u guys think??

Last edited by z0stix; 10-14-2018 at 09:20 PM.
Old 10-14-2018, 09:39 PM
K-Spaz
Team Owner

Location: Central PA. - - My AR15 identifies as a muzzleloader
Received 522 Likes on 387 Posts
I believe in the Beer Fairy

Well it's obvious your clutch is not disengaging completely.

if you've got the inspection cover off, check the bolts that hold the pressure plate fast to the flywheel. Make sure they are tight, all three. I would also price um things around in there and see if you can feel anything loose. Flywheel to crank bolts loose. Bellhousing to engine bolts loose. Those you should be able to see easily. These are all unlikely but clearly you have something going on. The most obvious possibility is the master cylinder and slave cylinder.

with the engine off and just sitting in the driver's seat, can you make the clutch pedal pump up?