C5 Tech Corvette Tech/Performance: LS1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Tech Topics, Basic Tech, Maintenance, How to Remove & Replace
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

TrackSpac Hood Vents with some tips

Search this Thread

Old 06-22-2019, 08:52 AM
Spaggs
Racer

Received 59 Likes on 42 Posts

Default TrackSpec Hood Vents with some tips

This is probably the bravest thing I've ever done to this car. I'm a pretty good mechanic, the third time I do it. In this case, I have heard that old adage "cut once" so instead of measuring twice, my ADD/Dyslexic brain told me to measure six of seven times. I did. That's how many times it took for me to be comfortable, or somewhat comfortable when I used a hammer to make dents in the hood where my drill bit would make open wounds. (Another post suggested using a punch before you drill. It works).

Hats off to all the guys who have posted video and treads on their adventure into this project. Without those guys, I would not have attempted to do this. I found a couple of new ideas to help out, so I wrote this to help the next guy.

When I first got the box with the TrackSpec Vents in it, I put aside the box in case I chickened out and needed to return it or sell it. I later used all of the packing paper to stick on the surrounding areas when I sprayed the flat black paint to hide the white fiberglass. It really came in handy. I also used part of the box to use as a windshield to keep the paint from flying all over.

The only thing I really stressed about was the location of the passenger side vent. I didn't like the idea of exposing the fuse box/battery to rain water, so I relocated the side vents about an inch towards the front of the car. They actually lined up better with the center section.