Sponsored by:

[Z06] Wheel Hop

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2011, 05:49 PM
BLKWDWZ06
Pro

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default Wheel Hop

Ok, sorry newbie here again, I tried to do a burnout and car is hooking like crazy, with traction control off. I have the Hankook Ventus and they seem to be pretty sticky. Second time I tried I got wheelhop this was trying to launch the car at 2000rpm.

On my 2006 m6 gto in at 2000 rpms it will burnout through second gear and give a nice side kickout in 3rd gear.

I realize this car has the trans in the back, is this what is causing the super gecko like grip.

Oh yeah, I got forgelines, 18 275 35 front, 19 305 30s out back.
Thanks,
Jabba

Last edited by BLKWDWZ06; 04-11-2011 at 07:04 PM.
Old 04-11-2011, 06:29 PM
speedyhawk101
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

First off, why would you try to do a burn out with the traction control on?

your GTO had 245's in the rear?

These cars will hop. Mine was real bad when I first got it. The tires were pretty crappy though. I replaced (after doing some custom work so they would fit) the old tires with 335/30's and I rarely have wheel hop anymore. Not sure what is the best fix for wheel hop. All I know is that it breaks stuff.
Old 04-11-2011, 07:07 PM
BLKWDWZ06
Pro

Originally Posted by speedyhawk101
First off, why would you try to do a burn out with the traction control on?

your GTO had 245's in the rear?

These cars will hop. Mine was real bad when I first got it. The tires were pretty crappy though. I replaced (after doing some custom work so they would fit) the old tires with 335/30's and I rarely have wheel hop anymore. Not sure what is the best fix for wheel hop. All I know is that it breaks stuff.
sorry buddy i meant that the active control was off, your right about the 245's duh, makes sense.

did you tub out to get 335 on, my car is got hairs to spare before i start grind the rims and tires
Old 04-11-2011, 11:27 PM
76 VETTE
Melting Slicks