Sponsored by:

[Z06] Wanting a C5Z/FRC

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2017, 01:38 AM
lobamotive
Instructor

Received 22 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Wanting a C5Z/FRC

I've been throwing around the idea of purchasing a C5Z for the past 18 months or so, and I think the time has come. I ended up buying a 2010 F-150 back in early April, but I'm really missing the ability to actually pass anyone on the freeway. Not to mention the truck gets about 13 or 14 mpg on the highway

So here I am, wanting to know some of your thoughts and insight on a C5Z or FRC.

I'm looking for a 408/416 forged stroker car, but would like to stay in the realm of $20k. Can it be done? Once I get used to the power, I'd like to slap a supercharger on there. I've also considered a roller, but seeing as this will be my only car, I don't see that happening.

What are ya'll's thoughts? I've checked with my insurance, and at my young age, the C5Z would be cheaper than my current truck.

Also, give me some info about your Vette(s) and how highly you would recommend one to someone else.
Old 09-15-2017, 02:38 AM
Glenndingo
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

As a recent c5z owner and someone who has had many v8s including a 93 Nissan Pickup with a 350/700r4 in it to name probably the most oddball thing I've had, I cannot recommend a c5/c5z enough.

What I can tell you though is before you go maxing out power drive it a bit -- it'll surprise you how fast it is out of the box, then you'll remember it's a car from the early 2000s and be even more impressed. I highly recommend getting a near stock one of either flavor and learning the car a bit, and grab a CAI/catback and a good set of rubber, because just remember the o lt time you'll be wishing you bought better tires is when you're loose on the street, and hopefully that's not your last thought.

Tires/CAI/Tune were my first chosen mods. After that will be headers/retune then I'm updating old equipment.
Old 09-15-2017, 07:09 AM
Shakeydeal
Melting Slicks