C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Fresh DBS after 7 months trouble free

Search this Thread

Old 07-05-2006, 09:15 PM
Dale_K
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

Default Fresh DBS after 7 months trouble free

The trick of shifting out of reverse temporarily after each shutdown to double check for any latent messages is apparently not a foolproof verification of a successful shutdown. I've been using that trick for the past several months and hadn't seen DBS for a long time so I was hopeful it was going to be a good work-around pending a true fix by GM. I never did see any messages from the shifting business but it was worth a try.

I haven't moved the car but it's on the charger. Thank God it always happens while the car is in the garage. I recall reading the draft of GM guidance document for technicians that said to check for a few things, with the first being try moving the steering wheel to see if the column lock is engaged. It was activated but I had to turn the wheel a little before the pins actually dropped into place locking the wheel in a fixed position. I don't know if that has any bearing on this episode or not.

I guess the conclusion is don't assume your car is OK simply because it hasn't happened to you for a long while.
Old 07-05-2006, 10:17 PM
Jbal
Drifting

Received 46 Likes on 37 Posts

Dale;
I agree- almost went a year when my 2nd DBS occurred. Thought I had everything figured out! Not so. Hoonesse, on this forum , as you probably know, has provided a great resource within GM. Hope it gets' resolved.
Take Care
Old 07-06-2006, 04:04 PM
Dale_K
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

I expect to see a seasonal cycle with more DBS incidents as we move into colder weather. I suspect part of the reason I haven't had any DBS lately is because I drive the car pretty nearly every day in the warm months. The car probably can't have a DBS if you use it every day.