C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

DIY: Brake Pads and Painted Calipers

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2006, 08:23 PM
grenik
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY: Brake Pads and Painted Calipers

It was a busy weekend for DIY projects on the Corvette. I previously posted a DIY project for the steering wheel trim and gauge trim rings. The next day, I replaced the brake pads with ceramics (not for performance, just to eliminate brake dust). We also painted the calipers.

I had never replaced the brake pads, but figured I would give it a try. Since I am a novice, I thought I would try to put together a post that might give other novices the confidence to try.

DIY Brake Pad Replacement:

First, we are not going to be disconnecting any brake lines or have to deal with any fluids. I would love to see some detailed pics of that process, but this is not it. This is just the pads.

We jacked up the car as described in many posts here. We experienced the same issues as most everyone that tries to jack their car for the first time; the floor jack does not fit under the front of the car well. As described in other posts, we pulled up on some wood and were able to get the jack under the car.

I purchased BMW pucks for my 3 ton aluminum jack stands. Jacked the car up (font and back) and got it on the stands. This site seemed great for jacking the car, but I think there are some other posts that are good as well.

http://81x.com/bugman/c6

We took off all the wheels. Loosened the lug nuts before jacking the car.

Here is the rotor and caliper for the front drivers side.