C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What is clutch chatter?

Old 02-10-2008, 10:13 PM
Captain Crunch
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What is clutch chatter?

Sorry, newbie here... I have a MN6 08 C6 (501 miles) and have been hearing some kind of cha, cha, cha or sha, sha, sha type noise when in any gear. The noise speeds up when the engine speed increases and vice versa. Of course, it is very faint and cannot be heard when driving on the highway due to road noise or if you play the stereo only on notch 1 or 2. Sometimes when in gear, the noise goes away and but always comes back. I've reved the engine slowly out of gear and there is no noise. Is this clutch chatter? Thanks for your input and help!

If this is clutch chatter, I'm not going to worry much about it. I've read that this is more of an annoyance and goes away. But, if this is not clutch chatter, I'm going to take my car into the dealer next week.
Old 02-11-2008, 08:38 AM
gota07
Le Mans Master
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Cruise-In VIII Veteran

What you're describing doesn't sound like clutch chatter, but I wouldn't take it in for service unless it grew into more serious issue. As new as your Vette is, it won't hurt to monitor the condition for a while to see if it gets progressively worse.
Old 02-11-2008, 08:41 AM
AORoads
Team Owner

Received 2,478 Likes on 1,941 Posts
St. Jude Donor '15
"In honor of jpee"

hard to tell from your description, but let's make sure of a couple things: first, you're slowly accelerating in first gear from a stop, your foot is completely off the clutch pedal, right? and that's when you can hear these noises? and turn off the radio/stere/cd so you can isolate noise/sound.

second, you're doing the same in second gear, and foot is completely off the clutch? can you hear it right beneath your feet? or, is it possible it's coming from the rear of the car?