C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Need advice for removing scratches from the clearcoat

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2009, 11:49 PM
49northls3
Instructor

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Default Need advice for removing scratches from the clearcoat

Hello,
I just purchased a Victory Red 2008 LS3 Z51 M6 from our local dealer on Saturday and I am having a mini stroke over the fact (some of which I was aware of) that there are more (sure hope it's only in the clearcoat) showroom scratches in the fender tops, hood and a few other locations like the top of both doors.

My first question is: can these be buffed out with an orbital or wheel?

I have no experience with buffing scratches so it will be taken to a professional. I also have no idea how thick the factory clearcoat is but given I can not see grooves or feel the scratches with my fingernail I am assuming that they are only into the clear but one scratch is about a foot long. These scratches for the most part have been made by folks leaning over the fenders to look at the engine compartment, rubbing the car or from the occasional wiping down at the dealership. The car arrived to the lot last June and I remember on a few occasions last summer dealership salesman showing it for-sale at various local venues, so it has been handled, rubbed up against and sat in a far amount. The good news id that it never was iin the rain, an nowhere else is any wear and tear visible that makes me come unglued but the obvious marks on the car.
PLEASE SOMEONE WHO HAS LIKELY BEEN HERE BEFORE ASSURE ME THAT THEY WILL COME OUT.

The second question is: if they can be removed what product have you guys used with the best result being scratch removal. Is it recommended to "just" buff the problem spots or do the entire car regardless if it needs it or not?