C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Invisicord Installation

Old 02-26-2011, 07:13 PM
GOLD72
Race Director

Received 1,101 Likes on 715 Posts

Default Invisicord Installation

I just went through quite a time getting my Invisicord to power up my V1 in my new ZR1. I have never used this product before having previously used the V1 standard cord and running it all the way to the passenger floorboard fuse box on both the 01Z and the 06Z. So I thought I would share some hard won advice without providing a "how to manual" as those are readily available with using the Search function.

I installed the hot and ground wire spades into the back of the Onstar mirror electrical harness plug in the recommended spots and just assumed the electrical connections were good. I used two electrical wire ties to fasten the Invisicord to the mirror cable harness as advised in case the suction cups failed and allowed the V1 to fall from the windshield. With the V1 on the windshield and connected, it failed to power up when I cranked the engine. Bad mistake. Twisted the mirror back downward & to the right to gain access to the harness plug to disconnect. Now using a multimeter, I discovered I had neither a good ground at the ground spade nor 12v at the hot spade. Struck out on both accounts. The spades were making only occasional contact and were wanting to fall out of the harness plug.

You may have to try all four sides of the factory wire entries into the back of the harness plug to find a side where the spade will go almost all the way in (maybe with only 1/8" of the spade showing) to get a good connection and one that won't come loose when you reconnect the mirror and rotate it back to normal position.