C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Shifting in "D" or "S" -- a comparison.

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2011, 11:14 AM
lamboguy
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Shifting in "D" or "S" -- a comparison.

Hi Folks,

I've been driving entirely in "D" (Drive) since I bought my 2009 C6. Now that I'm close to the 36k warranty I've been trying certain things out to make sure they work. Most recently, I've been trying the car out in Sport shifting mode. Couple of questions/comments...

Does the system "rev" the engine a bit to match engine speed to a downshift in the S mode? In D mode the transmission seems to downshift well after the fact (as brakes are applied and one is slowing down) so engine revs are kept low. But as I downshift in S mode there seems to be a bit of an artifical "revving" of the engine to bring it up to the proper matching RPM. Is this actually something built into the system? Or is there something wrong with my tranny in S mode? (I'm pretty sure it working fine, so just double-checking)

I notice this same "revving" or almost "double-clutching" feature in the E-Geared Lamborghinis, such as the Murcielago and Gallardo. They try to match a manual shift action/sound as the car decelerates.

Is this going on in the Vette as well? Fwiw, I find it annoying and would just like the car to shift without all the "fuss" in-between gears. Just a soft/quick "bang" for the downshifts -- not a "rev up" or even (in the case of the Lambos) the racey "double-clutch." I don't want to show off for all the girls, I just want the frickin' thing to downshift.

Hope I'm making myself clear on this one. I mainly want to verify that the car does rev the motor a bit on downshift in S mode. (which is what it's doing)

Thanks!

Fred
Old 04-30-2011, 11:29 AM
RicK T
Team Owner

Received 556 Likes on 452 Posts