C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 trailer hitch w/pics & construction details

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2011, 10:01 PM
HOXXOH
Race Director

Received 2,061 Likes on 1,505 Posts
C6 of Year Finalist (performance mods) 2019

Default C6 trailer hitch w/pics & construction details

After posting pics on a couple other threads, several members PM'd asking for more details. Rather than answer individually, I chose to post for all to see.

Since my background is engineering and manufacturing, when the need for special non-commercially available items arise, I make my own.
I sold my metal fabrication business a couple years ago, but retained the right of access for personal projects. For those who will need to have someone else do the labor, expect to pay for about 2 hours for the fabrication part and another hour for initial installation not including the wiring. Of course, any portion of it you can do yourself will save paying someone else.

Once it's installed the first time, it can be easily removed and/or reinstalled in 5 minutes without even raising the car.

Material costs were somewhere around $20 including the ball.
The procedure is as important as the construction. Dimensional tolerance is only important in the one area that fits around the rear frame member.