C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Targa Top rattle (2011 GrandSport)

Old 03-20-2012, 06:24 PM
Bob Hawthorne
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Targa Top rattle (2011 GrandSport)

I'm sure there are a bunch of threads on this, but this one may be different..

First of all I'm a tech at a top tier dealer (Buick GMC Cad). We often don't see much of this hince we aren't a Chevy Dealer.

I've been working with a 2011 Corvette Grand Sport, the targa top is creaking and rattling like a S.O.B. The latches are the current updated latches. The top is the most current also.

We have 2 TSB's out for this vehicle, one for cleaning weathestripping and lubing them with a silicone grease (looks horrid) and performing a numerous amount of adjustments to properly fit the vehicle. There is also another one for the targa top coming apart, but the vehicle does not fall under the vin breakpoint.

I've done the 14pg bulletin (#08-08-67-013G). The vehicle is equipped with the CC3 roof (Targa Top). I've also been on the phone with technical assist numerous times trying to fix this issue, but coming up with the same results.

So far I've adjust the rear and front 2 latches to relieve tension from the top, cleaned the weather strip seals and lubed them, adjusted the roof again (tighter) which worsened the situation, lubed the rear pins, lubed the front latches, pretty much shaken the whole top down.

I've tried to get a new top from GM, but they are refusing due to the fact they think it is something else. They won't listen and its very very
fustrating for me and the repeat visits for the customer. Has anyone here had a targa top rattle on a 2011-2012 vette with all of the updated parts? I'm at my last road with this vehicle and I do not want to let this customer down, not to mention the last 4hrs I've been tempering with it I haven't made a dime. Thanks in advance.

and.. hello by the way!