C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help forma new C6 owner

Old 08-13-2012, 12:34 PM
BlackFya
Pro

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Default Help forma new C6 owner

Can some one shoot me a link on the dry sump system and explain to me how it works on the ls3. Did a search but couldn't come up with much
Old 08-13-2012, 01:03 PM
BWF07
Le Mans Master

Received 818 Likes on 387 Posts
St. Jude Donor '11
Oldtimer

I am no expert on it, but my understanding, is that the oil is held in a tank, not in the normal sump in the standard oil pan. It is constantly circulating oil through the engine even in high turns. Were in a normal engine oiling system the oil in the oil pan sump would be forced away from the pump pickup in the turns and could cause oil starvation.
I am sure someone with a lot more knowledge will chime in.

You mentioned the LS3, and I believe that the dry sump system is only available in the LS3 Grand Sport and of course the LS7 and LS9. But then again I could be wrong on that seeing I just moved into the C6 family 10 days ago.

Last edited by BWF07; 08-13-2012 at 01:06 PM.
Old 08-13-2012, 01:25 PM
TLS_Addict
Team Owner

Received 677 Likes on 347 Posts

A forum member did a test. Unless you exceed a left hand corner with G's in excess of 1.0 for more than 4 seconds..........there is never an issue. He simply states "Slow down."

If you were a racer though I could see where this is a MUST just in case.
Old 08-13-2012, 01:34 PM
Zogs2011
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by BWF07
I am no expert on it, but my understanding, is that the oil is held in a tank, not in the normal sump in the standard oil pan. It is constantly circulating oil through the engine even in high turns. Were in a normal engine oiling system the oil in the oil pan sump would be forced away from the pump pickup in the turns and could cause oil starvation.