C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Would a tune help me or not

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2013, 05:11 PM
hopeman
Instructor

Received 21 Likes on 7 Posts
Default Would a tune help me or not

OK i have a 08 c6 22k with flow masters and a k an n cold intake. would a tune help me gain hp i called a place and they said it would cost about 450 is that price high or in range. I'm new to the whole hp thing my car sort of hesitates sometime when you jump on it. and i was told that i really don't have 430 hp even though Chevy says i do what gives
Old 07-09-2013, 05:38 PM
olefam
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

This is just my opinion, but...
Yes - you will probably feel an increase in performance. Not because of the K&N or the Flow Master (Cat back?) exhaust. But because a good tune will recalibrate your air/fuel ration to a more stoichiometric-correct setting. Then, if you have an auto trans, the tune will most likely recalibrate your shift points and the speed with which your auto shifts. All these newe\ settings will likely make your car feel much more responsive than it does now.
Glen
Old 07-09-2013, 05:45 PM
hopeman
Instructor

Received 21 Likes on 7 Posts

Thanks this is why i like this fourm
Old 07-09-2013, 05:50 PM
billyboy47
Race Director

Received 219 Likes on 176 Posts
St. Jude Donor '17

Originally Posted by olefam
This is just my opinion, but...
Yes - you will probably feel an increase in performance. Not because of the K&N or the Flow Master (Cat back?) exhaust. But because a good tune will recalibrate your air/fuel ration to a more stoichiometric-correct setting. Then, if you have an auto trans, the tune will most likely recalibrate your shift points and the speed with which your auto shifts. All these newe\ settings will likely make your car feel much more responsive than it does now.
Glen