C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any suggestions on removing fine scratches from the tintcoat?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2017, 07:10 PM
p2toy
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Any suggestions on removing fine scratches from the tintcoat?

I am new to corvette paint finishes (tintcoat) and looking for suggestions on how to remove the fine scratches from washing etc. without causing further damage.
The color is Crystal Red Metallic tintcoat, Code # 89U
Can you just use a regular swirl mark remover, or do you have to be extra careful which products you use since its a tintcoat? I tried the NUFINISH scratch doctor on a test spot but it didn’t really make much difference.

Last edited by p2toy; 03-10-2017 at 07:14 PM.
Old 03-10-2017, 07:14 PM
rkj427
Race Director
Pro Mechanic
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 3,952 Likes on 2,470 Posts
2024 Corvette of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2023 C6 of the Year Winner - Unmodified
2020 C6 of the Year Finalist - Unmodified
2019 C6 of Year Finalist (appearance mods)

Yes you can using the proper products and methods.........without causing any additional damage..........

You may want to check out the Car Care area for a lot more information on detailing products and processes.............

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...discussion-10/
Old 03-10-2017, 07:18 PM
p2toy
Instructor

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by rkj427
Yes you can using the proper products and methods.........without causing any additional damage..........

You may want to check out the Car Care area for a lot more information on detailing products and processes.............

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...discussion-10/

I couldn't find much specifying tintcoat care, but can you just care for it like regular clear coat?

Any recommendations on specific products or methods?
Old 03-10-2017, 08:03 PM
buckmeister2
Le Mans Master