C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2008 C6 A6 Z51 Braking Questions

Old 06-19-2017, 08:05 PM
Roger Warren
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2008 C6 A6 Z51 Braking Questions

I recently brought this Corvette (40K miles) and have started tracking it. I would love any information anyone would like share regarding braking distance, which seems to be poor (I changed fluids, re-surfaced the rotors, upgraded to Hawk Street / Race pads) which helped.

On the skid pad, I went through the cones at the end with stock pads, and now I barely touch the cones with the Hawks. My other car stops 25 feet in front of the cones. I find I have to start braking earlier in the corners and the car hates when I am on the brake and start to turn (yes, I know I am not supposed to do that but I am new at this!) the brakes chatter. My driving coach actually commented that I am not pressing the brakes hard enough which I can assure you I am.

New braking systems are really expensive and some require new wheels, starting to regret not buying a Z06.

Thoughts?
Old 06-19-2017, 08:40 PM
Vette_DD
Team Owner
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1,276 Likes on 935 Posts
St. Jude Donor '21-'22-'23-'24

You're more liable to get help with this if you post about it in one of the C6 forums.

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...discussion-74/
The following users liked this post:
Roger Warren (06-20-2017)
Old 06-19-2017, 10:20 PM
FX VETTE
Team Owner

Received 1,679 Likes on 1,182 Posts
Winner 2020 C7 of the Year - Modified

Originally Posted by Vette_DD
You're more liable to get help with this if you post about it in one of the C6 forums.

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...discussion-74/
Welcome to the CF!
Roger Warren (06-20-2017)
Old 06-19-2017, 11:14 PM
Vetteman Jack
Administrator

Support Corvetteforum!

Location: In a parallel universe. Currently own 2014 Stingray Coupe.
Received 19,207 Likes on 13,924 Posts