C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How much water does it take to hydrolock??

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2017, 04:51 PM
2L8LUZ
Racer

Received 35 Likes on 30 Posts
Default How much water does it take to hydrolock??

I'm fairly new to the C6 community so I am curious to how much ingested water does it take to hydro-lock an LS3??

The reason I am asking this is, I just went through a 15hr rain storm in where my car sat outside... The seals must have failed or leaked rain through them...

I went to start the car to just move from one parking space to the next...maybe 3 mins running time and I noticed that the engine was running really ruff... not overly bad but a defined miss feeling ... After shutting down the motor I went to inspect the CAI Air Raid Filter and noticed that the bottom of the filter was wet... I just pulled the filter and there was no noticeable water on the inside of the filter or puddles, it was wet though...

I'm guessing just the filter being wet would cause lack of airflow?

For public knowledge and from past unfortunate situations can anyone share their hydro-locked stories and if so how soaked their filters were??

Old 07-24-2017, 08:46 PM
1968swbbigblock
Drifting

Received 201 Likes on 162 Posts

Your car sitting during a rain storm is not going to hydro lock an engine.
It takes more than drops. Much depends upon engine rpm vs the amount of water coming in.
I would get the car out and up to temperature, if it is still running rough check all of your plug wires. Plug wires coming loose is not uncommon
Old 07-24-2017, 09:20 PM
cmonkey713
Race Director

Received 1,250 Likes on 915 Posts