C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2005 C6 Runs Rough then Dies when hot

Old 08-13-2017, 08:34 PM
TedG
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Default 2005 C6 Runs Rough then Dies when hot

Tadge,
Have you ever heard of a C6 that when it gets to operating temp then driven or sits idling just quits. Sometimes no codes, sometimes a P0203, sometimes (mostly) the DIC displays "Service Traction System"?

Took the fuse box apart and inspected it with a magnifying glass and a high quality meter. Nothing evident. Swapped all the relays around as well as fuses.
Looking for a common denominator, I replaced the Crank Position Sensor. No Joy.
Has fuel pressure.
Not quite ready to take it to the dealer, they are pretty incompetent, and I may just buy a clone Tech2.
I was a factory trained motorcycle mechanic in my younger years, and was the Chief R+D Engineer for what was the biggest Slot machine mfg. for 18 years. So I am not completely inexperienced.
Any thoughts??
Ted
Update:
Today I let the car idle for almost 2 hours, in 85 degree heat with a good breeze and it did not die. Usually it takes 50 min to an hour to quit. So this is looking heat related.

Last edited by TedG; 08-13-2017 at 10:04 PM. Reason: Update
Old 08-14-2017, 10:57 AM
pfic06
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Just a guess from my part, but the Mass Air Flow Sensor MAF contains an Intake Air Temperature IAT sensor. Might look at that as it appears that it is temp related.
From my 06 base service manual. The connector looking with the tab up, shows Pin A low reference TN, B IAT TN, C Ground BK/WH, D PK ignition, E MAP sensor YE.
Old 08-14-2017, 09:12 PM
TedG
Safety Car

Originally Posted by pfic06
Just a guess from my part, but the Mass Air Flow Sensor MAF contains an Intake Air Temperature IAT sensor. Might look at that as it appears that it is temp related.