C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Will insurance companies once again kill musclecars?

Old 03-24-2018, 07:55 PM
Mcrider
Le Mans Master

Received 1,038 Likes on 400 Posts
Default Will insurance companies once again kill musclecars?

I'm new to the forum, but have built Harley's for almost 40 years now, and done a considerable amount of drag racing, including a few years with a very competitive Top Alcohol Funny Car team on the NHRA circuit, so I am no novice to horsepower and vehicles. Starting in the late 90's, the world of Harley's began a climb to bigger and bigger engines that continues today.I watched completely unskilled riders purchase these bikes, especially during the chopper craze, and crash them left and right. The chopper fad is over but now it's moved onto uber high horsepower baggers, with the same results.

Today's cars are on an even quicker escalation into horsepower in street cars that is becoming mind boggling. In the early 70's, insurance companies stepped in and quickly killed the musclecars of the day, and they don't hold a candle to what a person can buy off a dealers lot today. Cadillac advertises on TV they make a 200MPH sedan! What used to be the rare air of the super cars is now commonplace with many cars capable of hitting 200MPH, and yet are fully street legal and driven.

Will the mix of this super horsepower in street driven "race cars" once again cause the insurance companies to step in and drop the hammer?
Old 03-24-2018, 08:10 PM
Reckedhim
Instructor

Received 24 Likes on 20 Posts

No.
Old 03-24-2018, 08:22 PM
Bruze
Team Owner

Received 1,136 Likes on 882 Posts

As I recall, the insurance companies didn't kill musclecars, the government did with its emission and fuel mandates.