C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

C6 427 60th Anniversary - motor failure

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2018, 09:08 AM
my60th
Heel & Toe

Received 15 Likes on 7 Posts
Default C6 427 60th Anniversary - motor failure

I hope I am in the right discussion area. I am new to this and joined last week and I want to keep everyone in the loop, and any positive help is appreciated. I recently purchased a 2013 427, 60th Anniversary Collectors Edition from CarMax. I love the car. I bought the car in February and put 3,000 miles on it and it now has a bit over 9,000 miles. I had the Chevy dealer inspect it thoroughly before the purchase and they said the car was in great shape. One of the main reasons I was happy with the purchase was CarMax offered a bumper to bumper warranty. Its in with same Chevrolet dealer now diagnosing a low oil pressure issue. They checked the oil and found shavings in the motor and they need to tear down to diagnose further. I know the warranty company is a 3rd party administrator, but I was told to work with the service manager at the Portland CarMax. Chevy service manager was concerned about tear down and coverage and told me he didn't get a good feeling from CarMax service manager. I went to Chevy dealership on Friday and had both the service managers (CarMax and Chevy) on phone together with me. I flat out asked the CarMax manager on the phone that if there was no (misuse or abuse) would there be an issue with coverage. He stated on the phone there shouldn't be. Well, I am allowing Chevy dealership to tear down motor, approx. $1500. A new motor around $12,000. If it does need a motor, chevy service managers will not put a re-manufactured motor in there, they said they would refuse the job, because they felt the car was practically brand new (2013 with low miles). I just hope everyone I am working with is honest, and all goes well, and I can afford to keep my baby.. Thanks,