C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buying a used C6?

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2019, 02:20 PM
Spartan040
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Buying a used C6?

Just realized I posted this question in the wrong section of the forum in my tired stupor last night.

I'm fairly new to Corvettes coming from the Mopar community (put down the torches and pitch forks thank you). I'm considering getting a used C6 as my first fun car early next year since I'm commissioning into the Air Force in August, going active in September. Lieutenants make decent money but not enough to comfortably afford a new Challenger 392 without stretching one's self too far financially, and I sort of want to wait until they bring out the next gen platform before buying one (whenever that actually happens). So, given that I'm single with no kids, I thought a cheaper used Corvette would be a great starter sports car, and probably more reliable than my current 2001 Durango with 173,000 miles on it.

I know the 2005-2007 models have the LS2 and 2008-2013 had the LS3, but how much real performance difference is there between the two? 30 crank horsepower isn't all that much. I don't plan on doing anything to the engine except bolt-on parts, a tune, and *maybe* a cam, plus new exhaust, so maybe the LS2 is the better buy for me? Also, how much power gain to the wheels would you get from throwing some factory LS3 heads onto the LS2, I heard you could do that.

Are there any particular years of the C6 I should watch out for?

I'm set on an automatic versus a stick because this will be my daily, and I *hate* driving stick in traffic. Is the 4 speed in the 2005 any good or should I spring for the 2006+ with the 6 speed?

What possible failure points specific to the Corvette in, under, and around the car do I need to look at before making the decision to buy?

Thanks in advance.
Old 06-18-2019, 07:36 PM
buckmeister2