C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Any advice for a new enthusiast?

Search this Thread

Old 12-10-2019, 04:51 PM
TheImperative07
4th Gear

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Any advice for a new enthusiast?

I'm currently a college student, but I'm saving up for a used Corvette as my first sports car. Either C5 or C6. I have some questions about what I should do to it. I plan on a sequential gearbox conversion as one of the first things I do to it. Which brand is the most affordable? Which exhaust should I go with? I'm thinking about Corsa, but I'd like some feedback. Lastly, should I replace the stock LS with the 454 LSx Big block, or should I go with forced induction to boost the power instead?

Popular Reply

12-10-2019, 05:07 PM
dryadsdad
Le Mans Master

Received 108 Likes on 92 Posts

Start with a Ferrari and work yourself up to a C5.
Old 12-10-2019, 05:07 PM
dryadsdad
Le Mans Master

Received 108 Likes on 92 Posts

Start with a Ferrari and work yourself up to a C5.
The following 6 users liked this post by dryadsdad:
73DBG (12-12-2019), jjfabs (12-10-2019), kite167 (12-18-2019), Landru (12-12-2019), marinablu67 (12-11-2019), TheImperative07 (12-11-2019) and 1 others liked this post. (Show less...)
Old 12-10-2019, 05:25 PM
BabyBlueVert
Racer

Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts

In addition to reading through these forums and asking Q's, I recommend joining your local Corvette Club. In person, you can learn allot from Corvette Club members. Using Google to search this forum may be the quickest search, too. Examples, “Corvette Forum C6 'sequential gearbox conversion' or 'forced induction’”.

Two respectful rules to always remember: The Corvette Wave when approaching each other on the road, and always stop to help a fellow Corvette owner on the side of the road (very rare).

The following 2 users liked this post by BabyBlueVert:
Fast Dawg (12-11-2019), kite167 (12-18-2019)