C6 Corvette General Discussion General C6 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Making an offer on a Vette

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2019, 12:33 PM
hyperfocal
Advanced

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Making an offer on a Vette

I know this is C7 General Discussion. There is someone trying to sell a car that does not belong to them on the Forums.
I am new to corvettes and can not afford 30,000 plus car. This car is on C6 forum. Can you corvette guys give me some advise such as,
is there anything I should look for from the history of a 2006 C6 Z51 package.

And, what is your opinion about a purchase of a 06 Vette.

I understand this is a stupid question, but some people will say a stupid question is a question not asked.

I do like the car; wish I could afford more. I am just a working man that want a Vette for some reason. Maybe some of can relate.

You have help me before....

Thanks a lot and Godbless America
Old 12-13-2019, 01:24 PM
MikeWyatt
Instructor

Received 30 Likes on 15 Posts

My opinion. I know a lot about C5's, I have owned two, 2004 C5s, (last of the generation) and loved both of them. Now have a C7, but still love my C5 for different reasons. Selling it though (sniff)

No matter (almost) what Corvette you buy, the following are true:

1. The cars are pretty much always cared for to an extreme. They are kept out of weather, not abused, and regularly maintained.

2. Exceptions might be extensively-modified or heavily tracked cars. MANY good well cared for have exhaust changes, bigger or non-run flat tires, "summer-only" tires, chrome upgrades, etc.- I would not worry about any of these.

Supercharged, lowered, etc.-- hmmmm.

3. Almost every year, within a "generation" (C6, C7 etc.) the engineering team makes changes to make the car better. So a later C6 should be expected to be less troublesome than a first, or second year C6.