Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] 160 degree Thermostat-Why?

Old 06-08-2006, 08:57 PM
Patrick McDaniel
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 160 degree Thermostat-Why?

I have seen several places people replacing their thermostat with 160 degree thermostats.

Is this a good idea?
Old 06-08-2006, 09:15 PM
allanlaw
Le Mans Master

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by Patrick McDaniel
I have seen several places people replacing their thermostat with 160 degree thermostats.

Is this a good idea?
Considering how much cooler than a C5 it seems to run stock, I'm not sure I see the point. However, I don't think it can do any harm.
Old 06-08-2006, 09:57 PM
forhamilton
Pro
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I have a 160 degree thermostat. Seems to run cooler on the street. On the track is doesn't matter.

Down side is it takes longer to warm up.

More important may be to have fans come on earlier.

What are your intentions with the car?
Old 06-08-2006, 10:24 PM
louieT
Melting Slicks

Originally Posted by forhamilton
I have a 160 degree thermostat. Seems to run cooler on the street. On the track is doesn't matter.

Would it matter as far as hurting the car..? I would bet it is better to keep it cooler, right..?
Old 06-08-2006, 10:44 PM
Exterminator
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Something may be wrong, the stat should only open when the coolant in your block reaches 160 as opposed to whatever stock is (I'm not sure in the Z06 in my Cobra it was 195). 160 should be "warmed-up"

Maybe your stat is stuck in the open position and this is why your car seems to take longer to warm up.

I agree that it is more important to have the fans come on earlier.
Old 06-08-2006, 11:37 PM
Patrick McDaniel
Burning Brakes