Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] LS7 Exhaust Valve Pictures

Old 06-28-2011, 01:10 AM
hapnermw
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default LS7 Exhaust Valve Pictures

These stock exhaust valves were recently removed from the heads I sent to WCCH. I'm told by them they are typical of the valves they see and this condition seems to be the same regardless of how the car was used. All exhaust valve guides required replacement.

The engine had 30K+ miles - 15K was stock and 15K had Katech cam/springs. It has seen 20+ HPDE days. The car has a conservative tune. I've primarily used Amsoil 10w40 Premium.

The burned oil and galling in the area of the valve guide should be easy to see. I'm not an expert in evaluating valve stems but these don't look like they are in good shape.

http://gallery.me.com/hapnermw#10000...&bgcolor=black
http://gallery.me.com/hapnermw#100004/IMG_0142
Old 06-28-2011, 01:14 AM
BSSN
Le Mans Master

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

What are the specs on the cam you ran?
Old 06-28-2011, 01:34 AM
hapnermw
Racer

Originally Posted by BSSN
What are the specs on the cam you ran?
Katech Torquer CAM 220 / 244 @ .050, .615 / .648 lift, 110 LSA +004

Nothing radical, I doubt it had anything to do with this wear. The issue is the heat the sodium valves concentrate in the guides.
Old 06-28-2011, 02:09 AM
BSSN
Le Mans Master

Originally Posted by hapnermw
Katech Torquer CAM 220 / 244 @ .050, .615 / .648 lift, 110 LSA +004

Nothing radical, I doubt it had anything to do with this wear. The issue is the heat the sodium valves concentrate in the guides.
I don't know, Katech has already said that a larger cam= more wear. Yours is not radical, but I would have liked to see your valves at the 15K OEM mile mark.