Notices
C6 Corvette ZR1 & Z06 General info about GM’s Corvette Supercar, LS9 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Kraken

[Z06] Dealer techs never heard of any LS7 head problems

Old 06-19-2016, 06:48 AM
erikszr1
Melting Slicks

Received 56 Likes on 44 Posts

I was a tech at Chevrolet for a few years, 2010-2014 the only ZO6 at our dealership getting new heads was my 08. Mine were super bad, I didn't even remove my rockers to see the play mine had. And the other techs were there for a lot longer than, by 5-10 years. None of them ever heard of it, or replaced and heads or guides in a vette. facts
Old 06-19-2016, 07:45 AM
EWK
Advanced

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Originally Posted by LFZ
Do you know what mods those cars that putted down the street had? What type of driving and rpms they were seeing?

Every LS7 I have ever heard that had heads replaced with new guides and valves had just as much ticking if not more...

Your scare tactics from reading the small population of Z06 owners on this forum is why everyone on here thinks the LS7 is a ticking time bomb.

BTW...good to see propain back and posting. Sad to see some of our real educated posters don't contribute due to the blown up LS7 epidemic that this forum has created.
Had my 2009 with 7,600 miles done last year by Katech, every intake and exhaust guide was out of spec. There was a significant change in valve train noise after the heads were reworked. Prior to the rework the valve train noise coming thru the AC vents sounded like a loud Japanese sewing machine, after the rework you can barely hear any valve train clatter. Huge difference.
Old 06-19-2016, 09:39 AM
Vette @ 71
Burning Brakes

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Originally Posted by EWK